Anonymous of Holland            -A Dutchman in Korea-

    Helo welcom 2 my websight

Untitled Part 1

Dus ik ben een kort verhaal aan het schrijven. Het gaat "untitled" heten tot ik iets beters verzin, en het speelt zich af op mijn middelbare school. Ik heb vrienden van me verwerkt in ‘t verhaal, maar de mensen waarop ze gebaseerd zijn lijken niet precies op hun karakters in het verhaal. Ik heb veel dingen veranderd om ‘t wat interessanter te maken etc. Dus don’t be offended, maar ben blij dat ik aan je denk =p De namen zijn trouwens ook allemaal veranderd om wat Engels-vriendelijker te zijn.

Prologue

The hallsof the school were empty and dark.
"I hate myjob…should've stayed in school." I thought to myself while I emptied a trashbin.
I'd beenworking here for two years now. Teachers and students alike treated me likeshit, but the pay was alright. Plus, I hardly had to do anything and that wasstraight down my lane.
I put thetrashcan down and wheeled my cart down to the end of the hall. While I passedclassroom 14B, I saw one of the other cleaners. I was the only white guyhere…not to mention the only one below 30 and the only one speaking English. Ipassed him silently, not wasting my breath on saying "hello" to someone whowasn't gonna understand it anyway.
Of coursethey understood it though…it was just too much of a pain in the ass.

A couple ofhours later we were done cleaning up today's mess.
"Anotherglorious day tomorrow" I said while locking the doors.
I was tootired to turn on the TV tonight. I was too tired to do anything. After fixingup a microwave meal I went to bed, my spirit broken by my useless day.
I have thatsometimes. I feel completely useless, contributing nothing to society…heh…mydad was right after all…

Nextmorning I put on my clothes and the stupid 'Janitor' pin Schuurbiers made mewear.
"No onewill be able to distinguish you from a student when you dress like that, boy."..Whatever.
I got onthe bus and walked the long driveway to the school. It used to be a convent, soit was pretty big and impressive. Recently though, the principal had beganadding modern stuff like glass walls and big open windows to the ancientbuilding. I thought it looked like ass, and I had to clean all thosegoddamned windows!
I unlockedthe doors with a sigh.
"Anotherglorious day…"

Chapter One — Crescendo

I sat downon my chair. My office was pretty cool. They let me decorate it however Iwanted. No one ever came here anyway.. I had secretly hooked up my PS2 to theTV they put in here and I usually just played games all day if no one neededme. Sometimes though, I liked to watch the "kids" walking around.
It was yourtypical high-school kind of deal: the jocks; the x-treme sports guys with theirBam Magera t-shirts and skateboards; the nerds with their glasses and uglybags; the goths, with their holier-than-thou attitude; the pretty girls,usually followed by their loyal band of drooling adolescents…that kind ofstuff.
It's funnyreally…I'm not much older than most of these guys, yet I can laugh at how theyact most of the time, the way they will laugh when they look back at it a coupleof years from now. Don't get me wrongthough, they're not all bad.

Some ofthem didn't feel above talking to the janitor. Some guys, Alex, Tom and Lars,(he's from Sweden, give him a break) sometimes skipped class to play the PS2with me, even though they all claimed to hate console gaming.
Thenthere's Justine, Ghisele and Madaline, the upper-class goth troop. They're notas hard as they seem, although all the freshmen are totally scared of them.
And finallythere's….her. Tanned body; beautiful, deep, dark eyes; silk hair dancing in thewind… The girl everyone wants. Including me. Her name is Solange. Shetransferred here from France. What the hell she's doing in a stinkhole townlike this is beyond me, but I'm glad she's here.
Somehowshe's turned down every jock and popular guy in school, but does talk tothe janitor..wtf is up with that?
When she'swith her friends she seems like a bitch, putting down the nerds and laughing atthe goths. But whenever she's speaking with me, she seems so full of warmth shemakes my heart flutter.
I shouldjust give up on her of course, she's way outta my league. But there's a littlepart of me that wants to at least try.

I was socaught up picturing her in my mind that I didn't hear the students talkingabout what they saw on TV last night. Something about ordinary people suddenlygoing crazy and attacking others. I believe back then, they thought it was somesort of rabies. Damn fools. And damn me for not noticing earlier.

I awokefrom my dreamy state rather abruptly. The principal was abusing the speakersall over the halls, screaming for everyone in the school to come to theauditorium.
"Great," Ithought, "it's gonna be a huge fucking mess by the time they're done." Ireluctantly stood up and proceeded to the auditorium.
There was ahuge TV on the stage in the front of the large room, CNN was showing some sortof B-Horror flick with zombies eating people.
Only aftera few minutes it dawned to me…"CNN doesn't show movies."
"CNNdoesn't show movies."
"Itdoesn't…show….movies…"
Theprincipal urged everyone to find a seat in the overcrowded room. When most ofthe pupils found a seat, either in the chairs or on the floor, the principal'svoice thundered through the sound system.
"Everybodysettle down! This is important!"
She wasobviously angry, but she didn't show it. Well, she couldn't, since her eyebrowswere tattooed on.
I lent backagainst the wall next to the door. I needed to process this, I need to knowmore. Is this just a joke? What will the principal have to say? A lot ofquestions raced through my mind, when the principal started talking in a veryserious voice.
"Children..thereis no easy way of saying this, so I'll just come right out with it…an epedemicis sweeping Europe. It originated somewhere in Poland, and has now reached ourneighbouring country Belgium."
She pausedfor a second, causing the murmur to start again.
"Children," she yelled, "children…I'm sureyou have all heard something about this on TV. I'm sure you all know no one iscertain yet what this is…The only thing we know for sure is that this is ahighly contagious disease, turning people into rabid killers. The Queen hadsone everything possible to make sure this disease doesn't spread within ourborders. A curfew is in effect, everyone is urged to remain indoors with theirdoors locked an–" Before she could finish the sentence, an ear shatteringsound of breaking glass echoed through the auditorium. "Damned bitch," Ithought, gritting my teeth, "Told you those 'modern' glass walls were a shitidea."

6 comments on “Untitled Part 1

  1. Harry d. Busdriver
    22 February 2008

    En zoals gewoonlijk verneukt web-log wereens de layout.
    KOPIËREN VANUIT WORD!?
    DAT DOET HELEMAAL NIEMAND!
    NIEMAND ZEG IK JE!

  2. Jelle
    23 February 2008

    KOPIEREN NAAR EEN WEBLOG!?
    DAT DOET HELEMAAL NIEMAND!

  3. marsha
    24 February 2008

    Kopiëren naar een weblog? :S
    Leuk is dat..

  4. Gems
    24 February 2008

    “since her eyebrows were tattooed on”
    …whehehe(6)
    Zullen we binnenkort weer eens op die heuvel gaan liggen, en gaan kijken naar alles?

    xx

  5. Ghislaine
    26 February 2008

    The Upper-Class Goth Troop!

    Mijn god, ik was minstens tien minuten onaanspreekbaar, zo hard moest ik lachen.

  6. Merel
    29 February 2008

    Omg ^^

    Damned bitch," I thought, gritting my teeth, "Told you those 'modern' glass walls were a shit idea." Lol.

Comment

Information

This entry was posted on 22 February 2008 by in Original Content, Stories.

For e-mail updates!

Join 63 other followers

Forgotten Tomes

Statistics

  • 24,761 Minds Expanded

Instagram

It feels like only yesterday when we all arrived in #Korea 3 years ago on the first day of our #KGSP #scholarship, but now it has already become time to say goodbye to many of you. Congratulations on your #graduation, and all the best in the rest of your lives ㅜ.ㅜ If I don't post anything for a long time...
Please call the police. 
#Annabelle #애나벨 #doll #인형 #creepy #무서워 #ComicCon #Seoul #SeoulComicCon #Korea #코믹콘 #서울코믹콘 #코엑스 These guys are so good they deserve their own post. Amazing #Rey and #KyloRen #cosplay at #SeoulComicCon in #COEX.

There were lots of great cosplayers, but these guys put so much thought and work in their #costume that they felt like the real deal. 
#StarWars #ComicCon #Korea #스타워즈 #카일로렌 #레이 #코스프레 #서울코믹콘 #코믹콘 #코엑스 Once upon a time in #Korea. 
#남산골 #namsangol #hanok #한옥 #traditional #전통 #Korean #hanokvillage #Seoul #서울 #history #historical #한옥마을 The #seoulillustrationfair was as wonderful as ever. I found loads of great #art, #illustrations and #cards and even asked for the #artist signature on some of them.

The #SIF is still on until this sunday at Hall D of #COEX in #Gangnam, #Seoul, so don't hesitate to stop by and see the work of some of #Korea's most amazing artists. 
#서울일러스트레이션페어 #일러스트
#일러스트레이션 #엽서 #작가 #아트

@grafolio @beuseful2013 @OUTER_UNIVERSE @parknyam @46_jihye @mingee_lee
