Anonymous of Holland            -A Dutchman in Korea-

    Helo welcom 2 my websight

A story by grandpa

Hello kids,
today, I’m going to tell you something about the greatest console in existance: the Sony Playstation 2.T22

While you are busy drooling over your graphical powerhouses like the Xbox360 or PS3, or playing your casual machines like the Wii or DS, some of us still remember the glory days of gaming.
And I mean the glory days of console gaming, of course, since the golden days of PC gaming had been over about 10 years ago. The glory days of console gaming, however, are only just behind us. The SEGA Dreamcast really started off the modern notion of a ‘game’, a full 3D world, no longer limited by two dimensions. Unfortunately, the Dreamcast died out long before it could reach it’s full potential, mainly due to the overwhelming success of Final Fantasy VII on the Playstation.

But in all honesty, I have to admit I can’t really enjoy the games of old as much anymore, spoiled as I gradually became by improving graphics, increasing freedom in gameplay and decreasing difficulty slowly introduced to us by the scene. Whereas I used to love playing Mario or Sonic on my SNES and Megadrive, these games can hardly interest me now for more than half an hour; not to mention any of the less profilic games of that generation and the one before that. The same goes for Playstation and Dreamcast games, not withstanding the obvious exceptions (most notably Blasto on PS and Jet Grind Radio and REZ on DC). Most of the games have kept their charm, but they just don’t captivate me like they used to.

This is where the PS2 is different. The PS2 still shines, almost 10 years after it’s release date. Huge amounts of people are still buying PS2’s, and they just won’t seem to stop. When God of War 2 was released, game critics pronounced it "a great swan song for a great console", when Persona 3 arrived, they said the same thing, when Rogue Galaxy hit stores, they said the same thing again, and very recently, with the release of Persona 4, they repeated themselves yet again. How many swan songs does a console get? Playstation 2 proved that a good library of games is all you need to keep a project going long after it’s projected due date.
Because if the PS2 has one greatest strength, it’s its enormous game library. From FPS to RTS, from Beat ’em Up to Roll ’em Up, the Playstation 2 has triple A titles in all of them. Not to mention the biggest and most awesome selection of JRPG’s, which used to be my favorite genre. No current-gen JRPG has yet to have even held a candle to PS2’s top games like Dark Cloud, Okage, Valkyria Profile or Suikoden.
The same goes for platforming games, which seem to be a dying breed on this generation of consoles. Klonoa, Ratchet and Clank and Sly Raccoon are all fine examples of how Sony continued the trend of good platforming that Nintendo seemed to have lost somewhere along the way.
And it doesn’t end there, Sony attracted many exclusive titles that were so much better than anything the opposition had (and still has) to offer. Games like God of War, Katamari and the Team Ico games are just a few examples of brilliant games you won’t find anywhere else (except maybe on your PC emulator).

And now, with the focus of Sony and most 3rd party developers shifting even more to the PS3, I’ll get to enjoy all those little gems I missed along the way; games like Rule of Rose, Odin Sphere, Onimusha Dawn of Dreams or Robot Alchemic Drive. And when I’m done playing them? I guess I could try out some of those Wii games that constantly get ported to PS2, like the new Indiana Jones game, or the (friggin’ hilarious, by the way) Harvey Birdman game.
Or, I guess I can always wait until the next ‘swan song’ presents itself..

 

Comment

Information

This entry was posted on 19 June 2009 by in Games.

For e-mail updates!

Join 65 other followers

Forgotten Tomes

Statistics

  • 25,629 Minds Expanded

Instagram

#가을 인데 왜 #겨울 느낌 밖에 안 나?

It's supposedly #fall in #Korea but...it feels a lot like #winter.

#창덕궁 #Changdeokgung #Palace #서울 #옛날 #전통 #역사 #한국 #Korean #KoreanPalace #Seoul #traditional #history #autumn You know, when it comes to the '#audiophile' #earbuds market, a lot of recommended #headphones are actually from China. The reason is that most Western companies have given up on earbuds in favor of #IEM, so basically it's either cheap no-brand crap or apple #earphones.

Thankfully, some of the Chinese offerings are actually just as great as people's online raving suggests; The #Yuin #PK3 is almost decade old now, but still delivers the best #audio quality I've heard in an earbud for under $50, and the #Edifier #P180 is seriously such a giant step up from your garden variety earbuds at a price of only 12 bucks that I can't understand why they aren't more popular.

The #Auglamour #RX1 was a complete and utter disappointment with tinny #sound I never expected after all the positive talk about it on #Headfi though. Seems like most of the budget from the $22 price went into the packaging, which is admittedly quite pretty.

Of course my main pair of headphones, the #Koss #Portapro - which hasn't changed at all in design since 1984 because they are just THAT good - isn't Chinese but good ol' Murrikan, and I always love taking them out even though they make my head look huge in compassion to their small footprint.

The #JVC #HAFXC51 were tauted as amazing IEMs back when I got them but although they don't sound bad, I just can't get used to having those little pieces of plastic lodged so deeply into my ear canal.. So..thank God for #China, I guess. 
For helping old-fashioned men like me find ways to still comfortably enjoy their #music.

#headphone #review #earphone #earbud #oortelefoon #koptelefoon #muziek #collection #sound #이어폰 #해드폰 The lure of #nature.

#Korea #SouthKorea #Seoul #traditional #wood #ZuidKorea #Namsangol #Hanok #ancient #trees #green #home #서울 #남산골 #한옥 #자연 #전통 #나무 #한국 So glad I finally stopped wondering why I never go to any #concerts in #Korea and just got up and went to one.

@emuartspace was probably the most 'homely' (#gezellig) venue I've ever visited, @bowhang_smacksoft was as impressive as expected, @imhyeonjeong enchanted me with her beautiful voice and the duet of @musicsollee (거꾸로도 #이솔이) and #조현정 made me wish they'd spend more time together.

It might be a bit more work trying to find concerts here, but it's definitely worth it. 
#Korean #Seoul #concert #Koreanindie #acoustic #band #guitar #indie #music #indiemusic #Emu #emuartspace #PantaGarage #콘서트 #서울 #황보령 #임현정 #인디 #인디음악 #어쿠스틱 #에무 #에무팡타개라지 #음악 I once heard a tale of a man
who split himself in two.
The one part never changed at all;
the other grew and grew.

The changeless part was always true,
The growing part was always new,
And I wondered, when the tale was through,
Which part was me, and which was you.

#Korea #SouthKorea #Seoul #traditional #religion #shamanism #grave #gravemarker #stone #statue #Asia #Asian #벅수 #장승 #돌 #표석 #샤머니즘 #한국 #서울 I know I use the phrase #concretejungle to describe #Seoul a lot but..man. 
#Korea #SouthKorea #City #Citylife #Buildings #Apartment #birdseyeview #panorama #Metropolis #서울 #도시 #건물 #파노라마 #도시생활
