Anonymous of Holland            -A Dutchman in Korea-

    Helo welcom 2 my websight

From Nippon, with love (part 2)

So it's been a while since I've posted here. That's because I HAVE A JOB NOW HOLY SHIIIIT. And it pretty much dropkicks me in the face every night at 11 so I haven't really had the time to post anything. But I still really wanted to post this, and today is Friday (Friday Friday!!) so it seems like a good time to do it. Also I'm doing it in English so Chizu can secretly read it too.

So anyway, last week this package arrived on my doorstep:


This was pretty much the most clearly Japanese package I've ever gotten. If it had any more Japanese on it I would've expected it to be a Hong Kong bootleg of a Japanese package.

 



Inside were two envelopes like the last time and also my present (zomg!)

 

 


Yeah, I took my sweet time opening it because I love opening packages so much. And I was especially excited about this one since Chizu had included some presents for my birthday that was last month.

 

 


How pretty is this packaging!? I felt so bad opening it up because I knew I could never put it back together since I have two left hands. The key and the tags and the little ribbon were so cute <3

 

 


And inside was a lot of awesome stuff, including the cutest birthday card ever.

 

 


So first off, there's the nameplate Chizu made for me herself. It says 'Richard', obviously, or, you know, some Japanese curse word because there's no way I could read it anyway. But it looks really cool. The top one is in Hiragana and has a cool 'falling sakura' thing going on, and the bottom one is in Katakana and has little Danbos saying my name :3
Also on this picture: A Japanese Tenugui and chopsticks. The Tenugui is just a rectangular cloth which is apparently used at festivals and stuff as a headband, and also used at home for all sorts of things like a washcloth or a towel. I haven't quite figured out what I'm going to do with it, but I used it as a tablecloth in the coming couple of pictures. The chopsticks were actually really nice, because I've just learned to properly use them and the ones I was using here at my parents' place kind of sucked, so it's good to have these.
Both the Tenugui and the chopsticks have a Japanese Yo-Yo design that's nice and colorful.

 

 


Also, and of course the most impressive to a weeaboo such as myself, Chizu got me a Yotsuba&! daily calendar. Yotsuba&! is my favorite manga and the entire calendar is so cute.

Here's some examples:


It also came with a little monthly calendar too that I may or may not use since I already have 2 Korean monthly calendars. Whoops!

 

 

So anyway, of course the most important part was the letter, but I'm not gonna show a picture of that because GET YOUR OWN PENPAL YOU LAZY BUMS. But I can show you some of the pictures.



In the top ri
ght there is the gift I sent Chizu with the last letter I sent her. I bought her a super kitschy Delfts-blauw Dutch bracelet, and as I tried it on I was like 'well, it's a bit heavy, so I guess she couldn't wear it often, but it's pretty cool.'
But of course I didn't take in account the fact that Japanese girls tend to have rather thin wrists compared to Dutch hambeasts, so she couldn't even put it on ;_;
But she came up with a solution that's pretty clever:

 

Considering the awesome gifts she got me this time the bar sure has been raised for my next package though since her birthday is coming up…so I'd better come up with something good.

2 comments on “From Nippon, with love (part 2)

  1. Zinzi
    21 May 2011

    <3
    (…en nog wat random tekst omdat het reactieveld niet leeg mag zijn en < en 3 blijkbaar geen tekens zijn!)

  2. Ghislaine
    23 May 2011

    Oh hoe fucking cuuuute! Nu schattige HOllandsche dingen terugsturen!! :D

Comment

Information

This entry was posted on 20 May 2011 by in Diary, Stuff and tagged , , .

For e-mail updates!

Join 65 other followers

Forgotten Tomes

Statistics

  • 25,084 Minds Expanded

Instagram

From #temples to #churches.

#church #Korea #SouthKorea #Seoul #religion #Christian #Christianity #cross #Korean #spooky #spoopy #filter #woods #교회 #무서워 #서울 #기독교 I had a great time working with #SBS on their new program #내방안내서 in the beautiful #Mihwangsa #temple. I'm sure that @zazimusic has made @haemin_sunim proud with their song based on his book, #멈추면비로소보이는것들.
며칠동안 #미황사 에서 시간을 보내는 게 큰 인상을 주었고 만난 사람들 너무 친절하게 챙겨서 감사하는 말 밖에 못 한다.
다들 #수고했어.

#Korea #SouthKorea #tv #filming #television #tvshow #Koreantv #Buddhism #Buddha #traditional #절 #불교 #텔레비전 #쇼 #촬영 #버라이어티 #발송 I came back to #Seoul yesterday. Waking up to the sound of cars passing under my window and people shouting instead of the sound of the waves rolling over the beach and bugs chirping, I realized again that a part of me hates this city, no matter how much I love it. Now I understand why #혜민스님 makes the trip back to #미황사 so often even though he lives in Seoul as well.

For people living in a big city like this, it's important to #slowdown and not get caught and lose yourself in the flow of things. Life in the #countryside and in a #temple is so different, so much more #empty, but so much more fulfilling.

#Korea #SouthKorea #Mihwangsa #color #peace #reflection #religion #Buddhism #Buddha #tranquility #traditional #절 #평화 #불교 #해남 #108배 #전통 #역사 #생각 #자성 #내이야기 #미황사 에서 사흘밖에 안 보냈는데, 그래도 #생각 을 많이 바뀌었다. #성찰 하면서 내 한국 생활도 생각하고 한국 사람들의 #촌 을 생각하면서 왜 한국이랑 사랑에 빠졌는지 다시 깨달았어요. 한국에서 사는 것이 선물이니까.. 잘 살아야지.

#절라도 #절라남도 #절 #평화 #불교 #해남 #혜민스님 #Korea #SouthKorea #Temple #Shrine #tranquility #peace #reflection #religion #Buddhism #Buddha #혜민스님 의 #미황사 에서 #멈추면비로소보이는것들 많다. #절 의 #평화 를 느끼고 마음을 비우면서 깊은 생각도 하고 한국 생활을 #감사 하는 생각도 많고.. 한국이 역시 #아름다운 나라입니다. 
Another gorgeous #sunset at #Mihwangsa #temple.
I am so thankful to #SBS and 혜민스님 for letting us stay here.
Just like the title of his book, there are many things you can only see when you #slow down. Staying at the temple and talking with the staff has taught me once again that Korea is an amazing country, and I couldn't be happier to be here. 
#nofilter #Korea #SouthKorea #island #traditional #tranquility #nature #wood #meditation Everything is more beautiful in #Jeollanamdo, even a #sunset.

#nature #Korea #SouthKorea #sea #island #절라도 #절라남도 #바다 #섬 #자연 #일몰
