Anonymous of Holland            -A Dutchman in Korea-

    Helo welcom 2 my websight

Being Responsible is Hard Work

Just a quick random update because I have some time right now~

My brain is kind of dying at the moment since we worked a lot tonight and I had some makgeolli, but I wanna tell you about something that happened last night when I went to get some groceries after work.
On the way to the store though (Family Mart ftw!) I ran into some of my students in front of the Church. They were just hanging around bullying eachother (Korean kids get quite physical with eachother and they love running around and punching everyone, but they never get angry, it’s kind of strange) so I stopped to have a talk with them. TEACHER RIESJAADU, TEACHER RIESJAADU, BOXING!! (When they say Boxing, basically they mean they want me to punch someone =p)

Then while we were running around, some middleschoolers (age 16+) came out of the Church and they were like “Oh! Sonsaengnim!” The middleschoolers had been quite interested in us for the past few days but because we didn’t have any classes with them, we only saw them during lunch and we had to sit with the children, so they couldn’t get to know us yet. So when they saw me outside I just got a barrage of questions.
“Hello! What is your name? Nice to meet you too!” They were just firing all the English they knew at me.
“Ohhh, you are from Nesserlansu? Guus Hiddink! Orangi!” When I showed them the few eurocents I still had left in my wallet they got so excited! It was cute to see grown guys being so childish over a few cents. “Ohhh Daebak! Daebak!”
They kept telling me how handsome I was, and how much they wanted to have a beard like mine. This was probably the first time anyone had ever told me I was ‘handsome’, lol. It felt a little weird because there were just these 5 guys staring at me and also the 10 kids who still hadn’t left. Actually, one of the moksaengnims made them greet me in the formal way, like all five of them bowing deeply at the same time saying “ANNYEONGHASEYO RIESJAADU SONSAENGNIM!”

When I told them I had to go to the store, they were only too happy to accompany me, especially after I told them I was getting Maekju and Makgeolli.
In Korea, you can’t drink until you’re 20, and you can’t smoke until..well..until you finish highschool. One of the guys was a smoker, so he proudly showed me his one cigarette that had been hidden somewhere in his pants for a day in a “OHYEAHHH I KNOW I’M BADDD” kind of way. So when I told him that in the Netherlands everyone can drink and smoke from 16 and up they literally fell to the floor (this is something really Korean to do, it’s like overreacting to show your surprise). When I told them, they were like “Well..in that case…hyung…can you buy us some beer?”
They’d been pretty cool, so I thought ‘Oh well, why not?’
They hid the beer under their shirt and thanked me like a thousand times.

So within my first week of living in Wando, I already helped minors break the law.
I wonder what the future holds.

Comment

Information

This entry was posted on 29 September 2011 by in Korea, Travel and tagged , , , , , , .

For e-mail updates!

Join 65 other followers

Forgotten Tomes

Statistics

  • 25,410 Minds Expanded

Instagram

Let's move on to system. #System.
Feel that in your body. The system.
What does it feel like to be part of the system? System.
Is there anything in your body that wants to resist the system? System.
Do you get pleasure out of being a part of the system? System.
Have they created you to be a part of the system? System.
We're going to go on. #Cells.
Do they keep you in a cell? Cells.
When you're not performing your duties do they keep you in a little box? Cells.
#Interlinked.
What's it like to hold the hand of someone you love? Interlinked.
Do they teach you how to feel finger to finger? Interlinked.
Do you dream about being interlinked? Interlinked.
Do you feel that there's a part of you that's missing? Interlinked.
Do you like to connect to things? Interlinked.
What happens when that linkage is broken? Interlinked.
Have they let you feel heartbreak? Interlinked.
Did you buy a present for the person you love? Within cells interlinked.

#Bladerunner2049 #Bladerunner #BR2049 #블레이드러너2049 #블레이드러너 #Korea #SouthKorea #Seoul #LotteCinema #롯데시네마 #kino #키노 #withincellsinterlinked #baseline #영화 #영화스타그램 #무비스타그램 I just saw #Bladerunner #2049 on the biggest #IMAX screen in the world and I'm still kind of reeling from the experience.

It had been so long since I'd seen a genuinely good film that I almost forgot what kind of impact that can have on a person.
Stunning visuals, with every other frame worthy of being a wallpaper, a slow and emotional story that left most of the theater in awe on their way out and another amazing role for the #Goose.

This film singlehandedly saved my opinion on #Sony Pictures, showed that #retro #Scifi can still work in this day and age and clearly established that it is in fact #Villeneuve and not #Jones or #Blomkamp that will save the genre.

#Bladerunner2049 #BR2049 #kino #Seoul #Korea #Yongsan #CGV #용산 #블레이드러너2049 #블레이드러너 #키노 Nothin' but blue skies and red brick.

#Korea #SouthKorea #Seoul #Palace #Deoksugung #traditional #전통 #서울 #덕수궁 #궁전 I fell in love with the beautiful #colors of #Korean temples.

#Korea #SouthKorea #Seoul #Gangnam #Buddhism #Buddhist #Buddha #Monk #Monnik #Bongeunsa #traditional #Temple #religion #Bell #봉은사 #스님 #불교 #서울 #절 #전통 #Chuseok means time for #traditional #Korean #music and #dance #samulnori.
When I first got here, I thought of it as mostly noise, but I found I'm starting to enjoy it more and more.

#추석 #사물놀이 #전통 #남산골 #음악 #한국
#Seoul #Korea #SouthKorea #Namsangol #Holiday #performance #percussion The last #Starcraft of the year has become kind of an emotional moment for me since we found out last year that you can't just expect it to be there in the next.
Hopefully, 2018 will also bless us with an amazing #GSL, exciting #SSL and some smaller tournaments full of the best #competitive #game and #esport ever made: #스타크래프트.

Congratulations to #JinAir #Greenwings #Rogue #이병렬 on his #SuperTournament win, and thanks to #이신형 #INnoVation for looking right at my camera while making that face.
See you all next year!

#SC #SC2 #Korea #SouthKorea #Seoul #Gangnam #afreecatv #gaming #gamer #videogames #progamer #스타2 #스타크래프트2 #e스포츠 #아프리카 #프로게이머 @afreecatvglobal
