Anonymous of Holland            -A Dutchman in Korea-

    Helo welcom 2 my websight

Sad Goodbyes from Wando

This week was the last week of my project here in Korea.
As I’m typing this, I am sitting in the living room of my guesthouse in Seoul.
It was so hard to say goodbye to our children, our home, our city, and our fellow volunteers..everyone is going to be leaving in the next few days, and some time after that I will also have to leave this country behind. Even though it might still be a month away, it feels like I am already leaving. Sleeping in a room with seven strangers, having no place to store my things, not being able to see my kids..it feels like I’m really alone now and this is something I am very bad at. I’ve never traveled like this, and it feels extremely uncomfortable.
I’ve been helping a kid that came over to the guesthouse with his English homework, almost without even thinking about it. Maybe there is a little bit of a teacher within me.

Yesterday, we wrote letters to all of our students, and some of them also wrote to us. My favorite student was crying as she hugged me and she wrote me the cutest letter ;_; Another one of my students e-mailed me today to say that he wanted to see me but couldn’t because I had already left. It makes me feel like maybe we did do something useful for the last 3 months, and it makes me forget about all the bad things that happened.

Anyway, I’ll just post the pictures we took of our students here, and maybe later, when I have time, I will add some comments about them.

large_DSC03642.jpg

large_DSC03655.jpg

large_218.jpg

large_DSC03659.jpg

large_7010.jpg

large_307.jpg

large_1702.jpg

large_3514.jpg

large_DSC03577.jpg

large_DSC03402.jpg

Comment

Information

This entry was posted on 9 December 2011 by in Korea, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , .

For e-mail updates!

Join 64 other followers

Forgotten Tomes

Statistics

  • 24,248 Minds Expanded

Instagram

I am an expert at mixing business with pleasure. 
#Torment #Planescape #Games #Videogames #RPG #Kpop #Hyori #Crayonpop #TaichiYamada #Strangers #Writing #OrsonScottCard #Card #Korean #Narrative #Study #TESOL #Books #Bookshelf #Guus #Hiddink is nogsteeds lekker aan het #bijverdienen in #Korea. 
#히딩크 #네덜란드 #약국 #약 #medicijnen #medication #Dutch #Football #Soccer #coach #GuusHiddink #Seoul #Nederland Recently, I've been worrying about whether my #Korean has been getting worse, but since I managed to make it through an entire #미용실 #대화 today without sounding like an idiot, I suppose it's not as bad as I feared! 
#haircut #hair #kapper #salon #conversation #foreigner #한국어 #외국인 #머리 #Dutch #네덜란드 Almost missed the #cheonggyecheon #lantern #festival at night, but managed to make it on the very last day with the very best company. 
It's quite nice when you pretend there aren't 8 million #tourists walking around. 
#Seoul #lanterns #Korea #Korean #서울 #청계천 #연등회 #연등 Where there is #esports, there is #이현경 @hk_leee. 
And where there is #LeeHyunKyeong, there is me fanboying. 
#이현경아나운서 #announcer #Starcraft2 #Starcraft #proleague #leagueoflegends #Starleague #스타2 #프로리그 #아나운서 #리그오브레전드 #스타리그 #스타크래프트 #스타크래프트2 Damn, aren't these #pokemon #subway cars a bit #overthetop? 
#Seoul #Line2 #2허선 #포켓몬 #pokémon #지하철 #Korea #Pikachu #피카츄
