Anonymous of Holland            -A Dutchman in Korea-

    Helo welcom 2 my websight

What’s got two thumbs and is going to study in Korea for 3 years?

This Guy
THIS GUY!!

.

I signed up for the Korean Government Scholarship Program at the start of this year after working on my application form for a few months on and off. This scholarship is a pretty big deal as they pay your travel costs, costs of living and -most importantly- your tuition fee. But that is of course only if you actually get through the selection process. That process was no joke, and every round (there were three, spread out over 5 months) was nerve wrecking. From meticulously writing up the documents containing my motivation, future plans and study plan, to having a talk at the Korean Embassy in The Hague, to being called up by the universities themselves to assess what I had written; every month of 2014 so far has been one of uncertainty and doubt. I honestly had never expected to get this scholarship in my first try, because as I said it’s a pretty big thing and thousands of people apply for it every year, but it looks like my sincerity has shown through my words because not only my second choice (Inha University) but also my number one choice (Hankuk University of Foreign Studies) have accepted me into their ranks!

Thus, starting at the end of August, I will be studying Private Law (민법) at HUFS. Well, first, for one year, I will be studying Korean fulltime, each and every day, so I can get to a level where I can actually even read the law books. But after that, I’ll be studying Law for two years at HUFS. It’s not gonna be easy, and the university’s expectations are probably pretty high, and I’ll probably be living in a dorm with like four other dudes, but I’m going to do my damn best so I can take the first steps towards my future in Korea.

I hope you guys will accompany me in spirit =]

4 comments on “What’s got two thumbs and is going to study in Korea for 3 years?

  1. Zinzi
    8 July 2014

    Als bewijs dat ik je blog heb gelezen bij dezen een comment. :p Waarom privaatrecht? Ga je internationaalrechterlijk advies geven aan bedrijven?

    • Anon Of Holland
      8 July 2014

      Haha, bedankt voor het openbaren van jezelf!
      To be honest heb ik eigenlijk gewoon voor privaatrecht gekozen omdat ik dat interessant vind..zoals je weet ben ik niet zo van het internationaal recht. Ik weet niet eens of ik wel iets met rechten ga/wil doen in Korea in de toekomst. Het gaat er me op dit moment meer om dat ik daar wat heb om mezelf mee te verkopen I guess? Mijn leven is een stuk minder uitgestippeld geworden dan het vroeger was -.-‘

  2. Marcel Luijten
    19 August 2014

    Ik hoef niet zonodig iets te bewijzen, but I am folowing you. That’s something you can be sure of.
    Greetings, Dad.

  3. Pingback: A New Beginning | Anonymous of Holland           -A Dutchman in Korea-

Comment

For e-mail updates!

Join 64 other followers

Forgotten Tomes

Statistics

  • 24,543 Minds Expanded

Instagram

Apparently, this passes for #art in #Korea. 
Eh, I'll take it. 
#StarWars #스타워즈 #Museum #미술관 #Stormtrooper #스톰트루퍼 #DarthVader #다스베이더 #LukeSkywalker #루크스카이워커 Final picture of the day:
A really, really #happy #Gumiho #고병재 after winning his first ever #GSL #Final. 
After the match, he said the first thing he's going to do is absolutely nothing for at least 5 days since getting this far in the GSL was a lot harder than he had imagined. 
Take a rest, 병재야, you deserved it. 
#Starcraft #Starcraft2 #SC2 #스타크래프트2 #스타2 #스타크래프트 #esports #gaming #progamer #Korea #Terran #SouthKorea #게임 #Gumiho #고병재 with his friends, celebrating his #GSL #Finals #victory over #soO. 
#Starcraft #Starcraft2 #SC2 #스타크래프트2 #스타2 #스타크래프트 #esports #gaming #progamer #Korea #Gumiho #고병재 asked me for a picture after I won the #GSL #final against #soO #어윤수 today. Thought I'd humor him. 
#Starcraft #Starcraft2 #SC2 #스타크래프트2 #스타2 #esports #gaming #progamer #Terran #스타크래프트 #테란 #파이널 And once again your #GSL #Final #winner is NOT #soO! 
Congratulations to #Gumiho #고병재 for his first win, and apologies for Instagram's focusing being so crap. 
#Starcraft #Starcraft2 #SC2 #스타크래프트2 #스타2 #esports #gaming #progamer #Zerg #Terran #어윤수 #테란 #저그 #videogames The #Alien #Anthology 35th #Anniversary Edition Bluray #Boxset is safely in my hands where #RidleyScott can't touch it. 
Now to find a #Bluray player so I can actually watch it.. #에이리언 #블루레이 #세트
