Anonymous of Holland            -A Dutchman in Korea-

    Helo welcom 2 my websight

Cocoon’s Grid-It! can solve your first world problems

I honestly didn’t expect much when I ordered the Cocoon Grid-It from a shady Chinese seller on eBay. The real thing costs about €20 (while of course it’s only $14 in America), and that’s quite a lot of money for a slab of plastic with some elastic bands stretched across it, so I thought I’d rather take my chances with a Chinese guy who said he was definitely totally selling legit stuff (the final price came out to like €13 or something). I’m pretty sure what I received actually is legit, but it’s probably an older version. I’ve seen dozens of images of slightly different editions of the thing, so it’s probably gone through its fair share of iterations.

Anyway, how and where I got it isn’t very interesting.
What is interesting though, is that this thing actually works.
When I read about it, even the glowing reviews, it seemed like a stupid consumerist overpriced gimmick with no real world value. Why did I still buy it? I’m a person who owns a 5 inch phone, 7 inch e-reader, 10 inch tablet and a portable gaming system. Redundancy is not in my vocabulaire. And since I’m preparing for my move abroad, I’m thinking about every useless little detail including “Man, what am I going to do with all my cables?”
So I took the plunge and ordered a Grid-It the size of the front pocket of my laptop bag. And I have to say, it’s pretty damn brilliant.

Grid-It

Basically what it is, as I mentioned, is a backing board (with a little zippered compartment that you can use to store..paper, I guess?) with elastic bands spanning from side to side horizontally and vertically. Because of the way they overlap, each band creates different sized usable surfaces to squeeze your stuff under. The bands are interwoven with little threads of rubber, which will keep your stuff from slipping. It’s incredibly simple, but also incredibly useful. Everything will stay in place, you can easily see where that cable or USB drive you needed is instead of rummaging through a bag full of crap and it’s a perfect fit for your laptop bag.

Is the solution to the first world problem of ‘having to search for 20 seconds to find my cable’ worth paying €15-30 for?
I’ll leave that up to you, but I certainly don’t regret investing in this little bit of lifehacking.

Comment

Information

This entry was posted on 16 July 2014 by in Reviews, Travel and tagged , , , , , , .

For e-mail updates!

Join 64 other followers

Forgotten Tomes

Statistics

  • 23,912 Minds Expanded

Instagram

Of course I had to take a picture with the absolute king of the day #Splyce #Zerg #Solar #강민수 and #Protoss team leader #herO #김준호 because I don't get to see them very often. 
Team herO was also in really good spirits while Solar was kicking ass and taking names in the #Twitch #Starcraft2 #VSL in #Seoul yesterday. 
#Starcraft #SC2 #스타크래프트2 #스타2 #스타크래프트 #Gaming #esports #God #2: #Splyce #Solar absolutely wrecking everything in his way at #Twitch #Starcraft2 #VSL in #Seoul. 
#Starcraft #sc2 #스타2 #스타크래프트2 #스타크래프트 #강민수 #신 #Zerg #저그 #Gaming #esports An actual #God at work at the #Starcraft2 #Twitch #VSL yesterday. 
#ByuN #변 #변현우 #sc2 #스타크래프트2 #스타2 #Starcraft #스타크래프트 #테란 #Terran #Korea #Seoul #Gaming #esports Turning #30 might not actually be the worst thing in the world.
Last year, I was swamped with university work, but this year I could take the whole day off to do only the things I wanted to. 
Another #happy #birthday in #Korea! 
#생일 #서른 #서른살 #verjaardag #dertig Another beautiful #spring day in #Seoul. Recently, I've been going #outside a lot more than I used to, and I'm not disliking it. The middle of this #park has a huge grass field where lots of people from the neighborhood were playing. #Korean parks are cute. 
#공원 #서울 #서리풀공원 #자연 #Easter? 
A #celebration, perhaps? 
A #chocolate-y feast? 
A #springtime #festivity? 
A certain #Christian #holiday? 
The #resurrection of a certain #Holy man? 
Why don't #Americans #celebrate Easter?
