Anonymous of Holland            -A Dutchman in Korea-

    Helo welcom 2 my websight

Don’t worry, I didn’t die!

Hello everyone,

I know some of you are anxiously awaiting news from me here in Korea, so I just wanted to let you all know that I’m doing well and I’m adjusting to my life here reasonably well. I haven’t had a lot of time to actually sit down and type stuff yet, but hopefully with some careful planning I will soon. I’ve been meeting a lot of new people, having lots of new experiences and have been getting used to living not only in Daegu but more importantly a dormitory. It’s taking a lot of adjusting and compromises, and I’m definitely not getting enough sleep, but I’m doing my best and I’m enjoying every day so far.

Here’s a quick look at my desk, that I’ve already changed a bit to make it feel more hospitable instead of this generic Ikea-colored thing it is:

Room

Also, here’s a picture of all the KGSP scholars of the Daegu area from the opening ceremony last week:

01

Yeah…there’s a lot of us.

Keimyung University is pretty huge. Just walking off campus takes about 20-30 minutes so it’s not always easy to go somewhere, but it is one of the most beautiful campuses in Korea so I’m quite glad I ended up here.

Next time I’ll tell you guys all about what I’ve been doing and I’ll show you my beautiful campus.
I’m not sure when next time will be, but I’ll try to make it as soon as possible!

4 comments on “Don’t worry, I didn’t die!

  1. Zinzi
    15 September 2014

    Fijn te lezen dat het goed met je gaat. Succes met wennen aan alles. :)

    • Anon Of Holland
      1 October 2014

      Dankjewel :3
      Het wennen aan de omgeving en de mensen is ondertussen wel gelukt denk ik…nu alleen nog wennen aan het huiswerk :p

  2. Myra
    27 September 2014

    Hey, even een vraagje (: hoe heb je koreaans geleerd !? Wil het supergraag leren en ooit heen reizen en wonen (:

    • Anon Of Holland
      1 October 2014

      Hey Myra,
      actually ben ik op dit moment in Korea om Koreaans te leren. Toen ik hier 6 maanden was geweest en al het een en ander op had gepikt dacht ik dat het niet zo’n heel erg moeilijke taal was, maar nu ik elke dag 4 (or 7) uur les heb kom ik er achter dat ‘t toch zo gemakkelijk niet is.

      Als je echt in Nederland wil studeren, raad ik je aan om een goed coursebook te kopen. Persoonlijk raad ik Fun! Fun! Korean (http://www.hanbooks.com/fufukovosett.html) van SNU aan. De prijs daar is niet echt geweldig (voor deze set ben je hier zo’n 50,000 won kwijt) maar misschien kun je ‘m ergens anders ook vinden.

      Talk to me in Korean is niet slecht voor conversational sentences enzo, en het is basically gratis, dus misschien kun je dat ook eens bekijken.

      Succes!

Comment

Information

This entry was posted on 14 September 2014 by in Diary, Korea, Studies and tagged , , , , , .

For e-mail updates!

Join 64 other followers

Forgotten Tomes

Statistics

  • 24,248 Minds Expanded

Instagram

I am an expert at mixing business with pleasure. 
#Torment #Planescape #Games #Videogames #RPG #Kpop #Hyori #Crayonpop #TaichiYamada #Strangers #Writing #OrsonScottCard #Card #Korean #Narrative #Study #TESOL #Books #Bookshelf #Guus #Hiddink is nogsteeds lekker aan het #bijverdienen in #Korea. 
#히딩크 #네덜란드 #약국 #약 #medicijnen #medication #Dutch #Football #Soccer #coach #GuusHiddink #Seoul #Nederland Recently, I've been worrying about whether my #Korean has been getting worse, but since I managed to make it through an entire #미용실 #대화 today without sounding like an idiot, I suppose it's not as bad as I feared! 
#haircut #hair #kapper #salon #conversation #foreigner #한국어 #외국인 #머리 #Dutch #네덜란드 Almost missed the #cheonggyecheon #lantern #festival at night, but managed to make it on the very last day with the very best company. 
It's quite nice when you pretend there aren't 8 million #tourists walking around. 
#Seoul #lanterns #Korea #Korean #서울 #청계천 #연등회 #연등 Where there is #esports, there is #이현경 @hk_leee. 
And where there is #LeeHyunKyeong, there is me fanboying. 
#이현경아나운서 #announcer #Starcraft2 #Starcraft #proleague #leagueoflegends #Starleague #스타2 #프로리그 #아나운서 #리그오브레전드 #스타리그 #스타크래프트 #스타크래프트2 Damn, aren't these #pokemon #subway cars a bit #overthetop? 
#Seoul #Line2 #2허선 #포켓몬 #pokémon #지하철 #Korea #Pikachu #피카츄
