Anonymous of Holland            -A Dutchman in Korea-

    Helo welcom 2 my websight

가정은 마음이 있는 곳이다

Everyone,

I’ve been thinking a lot about how exactly I should put this, but…I’m coming back home..

These past few months I’ve been trying to adjust to all the changes that I told you about in a previous post, but it’s just been too much. I’m stressed out of my mind trying to keep up with the classes, I don’t understand half of what’s going on in class anymore and I know it will only get worse if I finally manage to go to my University. We’re 8 months in and I still can’t read a children’s book, nor can I hold even a simple conversation without resorting to using English constantly. They’re teaching us nothing but TOPIK at school and what Korean they do teach they explain so poorly that I might as well be studying it by myself.

The only reason for still staying here in spite of all of this was my lovely girlfriend, but since she decided to break up with me to go abroad I don’t see what I’m still doing here.. I might as well follow her to Europe.

It hasn’t been an easy decision, because I hate giving up and I love Korea and its language so much, but this is not the way I imagined this scholarship working out.. All my love for Korean has been sucked out of me by Keimyung, and although my love for Korea will never go away it’s not enough to make me deal with this shit every single day.

I’m looking forward to seeing you all again, my family and friends..and I’ll miss you, all the wonderful people I’ve met here.

Let’s meet again some day.

.

 

*Please note the date on which this article was published! You couldn’t chase me out of Korea even if you wanted to*

4 comments on “가정은 마음이 있는 곳이다

  1. Nellie
    1 April 2015

    Volg je hart maar ook je verstand. Denk er goed over na. Als je weer in Nederland bent denk je er misschien anders over.Moeilijkheden zijn er om opgelost te worden. Als je binnenkort een paar dagen vrij bent kun je weer energie opdoen en alles even vergeten. (Dan kijk je er misschien anders tegen aan en ga je er weer voor).

    • Anon Of Holland
      2 April 2015

      Lieve moeders,

      hoewel ik tegen een burnout aan zit, krijgt ook die burnout me hier niet weg. Hoe kut het hier ook wordt, ik weet dat dit een once in a lifetime kans is en die ga ik voor niets opgeven. Dus dankjewel voor de lieve woorden en e-mail, maar die waren echt niet nodig voor een 1 April grap :3

  2. Brian
    12 April 2015

    Na je blog gevonden doorgelezen te hebben kwam dit wel tot een schok, gelukkig lees ik vandaag de kleine lettertjes >.<.

    Kan niet wachten tot een nieuwe blogpost. Zit nu in 5vwo en houd alle opties open, jouw ervaringen inspireren mij in ieder geval zeer.

    Brian.

    • Anon Of Holland
      14 April 2015

      Hey Brian,

      altijd fijn om te horen dat m’n verhalen inspireren. Ik heb zelf voordat ik de stap maakte ook veel gehad aan de paar Nederlandse bloggers hier, dus als je iets wil weten schroom je niet om het te vragen.

      Ik ben van plan om binnenkortish in ieder geval ook eens een post te schrijven over dingen die zuigen in Korea zodat men een wat beter beeld kan vormen =p

Comment

Information

This entry was posted on 1 April 2015 by in Diary, Korea and tagged , , , .

For e-mail updates!

Join 65 other followers

Forgotten Tomes

Statistics

  • 25,084 Minds Expanded

Instagram

From #temples to #churches.

#church #Korea #SouthKorea #Seoul #religion #Christian #Christianity #cross #Korean #spooky #spoopy #filter #woods #교회 #무서워 #서울 #기독교 I had a great time working with #SBS on their new program #내방안내서 in the beautiful #Mihwangsa #temple. I'm sure that @zazimusic has made @haemin_sunim proud with their song based on his book, #멈추면비로소보이는것들.
며칠동안 #미황사 에서 시간을 보내는 게 큰 인상을 주었고 만난 사람들 너무 친절하게 챙겨서 감사하는 말 밖에 못 한다.
다들 #수고했어.

#Korea #SouthKorea #tv #filming #television #tvshow #Koreantv #Buddhism #Buddha #traditional #절 #불교 #텔레비전 #쇼 #촬영 #버라이어티 #발송 I came back to #Seoul yesterday. Waking up to the sound of cars passing under my window and people shouting instead of the sound of the waves rolling over the beach and bugs chirping, I realized again that a part of me hates this city, no matter how much I love it. Now I understand why #혜민스님 makes the trip back to #미황사 so often even though he lives in Seoul as well.

For people living in a big city like this, it's important to #slowdown and not get caught and lose yourself in the flow of things. Life in the #countryside and in a #temple is so different, so much more #empty, but so much more fulfilling.

#Korea #SouthKorea #Mihwangsa #color #peace #reflection #religion #Buddhism #Buddha #tranquility #traditional #절 #평화 #불교 #해남 #108배 #전통 #역사 #생각 #자성 #내이야기 #미황사 에서 사흘밖에 안 보냈는데, 그래도 #생각 을 많이 바뀌었다. #성찰 하면서 내 한국 생활도 생각하고 한국 사람들의 #촌 을 생각하면서 왜 한국이랑 사랑에 빠졌는지 다시 깨달았어요. 한국에서 사는 것이 선물이니까.. 잘 살아야지.

#절라도 #절라남도 #절 #평화 #불교 #해남 #혜민스님 #Korea #SouthKorea #Temple #Shrine #tranquility #peace #reflection #religion #Buddhism #Buddha #혜민스님 의 #미황사 에서 #멈추면비로소보이는것들 많다. #절 의 #평화 를 느끼고 마음을 비우면서 깊은 생각도 하고 한국 생활을 #감사 하는 생각도 많고.. 한국이 역시 #아름다운 나라입니다. 
Another gorgeous #sunset at #Mihwangsa #temple.
I am so thankful to #SBS and 혜민스님 for letting us stay here.
Just like the title of his book, there are many things you can only see when you #slow down. Staying at the temple and talking with the staff has taught me once again that Korea is an amazing country, and I couldn't be happier to be here. 
#nofilter #Korea #SouthKorea #island #traditional #tranquility #nature #wood #meditation Everything is more beautiful in #Jeollanamdo, even a #sunset.

#nature #Korea #SouthKorea #sea #island #절라도 #절라남도 #바다 #섬 #자연 #일몰
