Anonymous of Holland            -A Dutchman in Korea-

    Helo welcom 2 my websight

Comic World Busan, a photo impression

This weekend I finally went through with my plan to go to Comic World in Busan, a city about an hour and a half away from Daegu. I’d visited Comic World before, 3 years ago in Seoul, and it was a really great experience so I was so hyped that I woke up at 6, got on the 7:45 train and arrived at BEXCO early in the morning, ony to be met with this giant horde of people waiting to buy tickets. “Wow, Comic World Busan must be even more popular than the one in Seoul” I thought to myself.

SONY DSC

But alas, the real reason why there was such a throng of people waiting outside was because there were only two measly ticket booths.

SONY DSC

When I entered, I realized the ticket booths weren’t the only thing lacking compared to Comic World in Seoul – the venue wasn’t even half the size of the one there and after only 2 hours I had already done everything I thought I’d spend all day on, which was a bit of a shame.

04

However, the main goal of Comic World is after all to sell hand made stuff to nerds, and there were quite a few cute things to find such as these Corgivengers and the cute Avenger Time cards I ended up buying.

S

So although all in all the convention itself was rather disappointing, I was still glad that I could get some of that wonderful nerd feeling again as I got sweat on by squealing high school girls looking to pick up the latest release of their boys love circle drawing books about some basketball anime that hasn’t been on air in decades. Plus, the real stars of the show are always the cosplayers, and luckily they weren’t absent even in Busan.

06

There were quite a few simple costumes, like this cute Ika Musume (오징어 소녀 in Korean) who even made her own cute little shrimp to bite into.

07

But there were also plenty of more elaborate costumes, like this guy who dressed up as Baymax and was cutely wobbling through the hall.

SONY DSC

And, thankfully, there were also more than a handful of really hot girls dressing up as really hot girls. Thank you Korea!

SONY DSC

Most of the costumes (and, unfortunately, merchandise) was from anime I had never seen, so I didn’t recognize that many characters. I’m just glad that even though Bleach and Naruto are also immensely popular here at least no one dressed up as characters from those.

10

The rules for weapons here seem to be quite a bit more lax than in the Netherlands too, which is cool because you get guns that are barely distinguishable from the real thing and swords that can actually be taken out of their scabbards.

11

This girl looked so beautifully pale that even though I didn’t know what anime she was supposed to be from I still snapped a pic.

12

Right after which I ran into this guy, 치느님. He is the personification of how awesome Korean fried chicken is. You could almost say it’s….GODLY!?

13

Also good to see that people are still cosplaying as Sakura. This person wasn’t even the only one, there was a whole group of people wearing Sakura’s school uniform. Also that huge yellow thing in the back was someone cosplaying as a bag of honey butter chips. It’s uh…kind of a cultural phenomenon over here..

SONY DSC

I saw that fat guy with the Sonic mask first thing when I arrived and I thought “Yes…this will be a good day.”

15

I feel like whatever comment I can make on this will be able to be construed as sexist so…”DAYUM GURL”

16

I’m glad someone used this awesome statue as a backdrop for some pictures. You know, when I was in Seoul I didn’t feel self conscious about asking people to take pictures at all, but now that I know a bit more Korean I suddenly became a bit embarrassed to just walk up to someone and ask them. I think it probably didn’t help that this event was a bit smaller so there weren’t as many photographers there either.. And most cosplayers were just hanging out in the gardens around BEXCO enjoying the sun.

17

I’m thinking I should steal this idea for the next time I go to Comic World. It’s such a simple but effective cosplay.

18

This guy wins the day for me though. As usual I have no idea where he’s from, but the costume looks amazing. The best thing about any convention is usually the costumes, and I’m really glad I got to see so many great and creative ones in Busan as well.

SONY DSC

At the end of the day, there was a Cosplay show event, and as usual it consisted of cringeworthily poor stories and ‘acting’ and half assed fightscenes that weren’t timed with the taped audio but…I have to admit it’s a lot easier to stomach when it’s in Korean and not in Dutch or English.

One comment on “Comic World Busan, a photo impression

  1. Pingback: RIP 2015 | Anonymous of Holland           -A Dutchman in Korea-

Comment

Information

This entry was posted on 18 May 2015 by in Animu, Korea, Photos and tagged , , , , , , .

For e-mail updates!

Join 64 other followers

Forgotten Tomes

Statistics

  • 24,543 Minds Expanded

Instagram

Apparently, this passes for #art in #Korea. 
Eh, I'll take it. 
#StarWars #스타워즈 #Museum #미술관 #Stormtrooper #스톰트루퍼 #DarthVader #다스베이더 #LukeSkywalker #루크스카이워커 Final picture of the day:
A really, really #happy #Gumiho #고병재 after winning his first ever #GSL #Final. 
After the match, he said the first thing he's going to do is absolutely nothing for at least 5 days since getting this far in the GSL was a lot harder than he had imagined. 
Take a rest, 병재야, you deserved it. 
#Starcraft #Starcraft2 #SC2 #스타크래프트2 #스타2 #스타크래프트 #esports #gaming #progamer #Korea #Terran #SouthKorea #게임 #Gumiho #고병재 with his friends, celebrating his #GSL #Finals #victory over #soO. 
#Starcraft #Starcraft2 #SC2 #스타크래프트2 #스타2 #스타크래프트 #esports #gaming #progamer #Korea #Gumiho #고병재 asked me for a picture after I won the #GSL #final against #soO #어윤수 today. Thought I'd humor him. 
#Starcraft #Starcraft2 #SC2 #스타크래프트2 #스타2 #esports #gaming #progamer #Terran #스타크래프트 #테란 #파이널 And once again your #GSL #Final #winner is NOT #soO! 
Congratulations to #Gumiho #고병재 for his first win, and apologies for Instagram's focusing being so crap. 
#Starcraft #Starcraft2 #SC2 #스타크래프트2 #스타2 #esports #gaming #progamer #Zerg #Terran #어윤수 #테란 #저그 #videogames The #Alien #Anthology 35th #Anniversary Edition Bluray #Boxset is safely in my hands where #RidleyScott can't touch it. 
Now to find a #Bluray player so I can actually watch it.. #에이리언 #블루레이 #세트
