Anonymous of Holland            -A Dutchman in Korea-

    Helo welcom 2 my websight

Ghost and Ghouls in Hapcheon Ghost Park

At first, I was gonna write a long bitchy blog post about how much it sucks that everyone’s gone and I have no one to play Go Stop with and I miss my friends but instead I think I’ll just write about an amazing day I had with said friends last month in a little town called Hapcheon, about an hour south of Daegu, where every summer some ancient curse turns the normally calm and serene movie location village theme park into a den of foul evil. Just the place for me to visit!

We based this visit purely off of a 5 minute video that me and Mika just happened to see while watching the news one day, so we didn’t really know if it was gonna be any good or not…and when we arrived it really already started to look like it was gonna suck… The weather was pretty drab, but worse than that Hapcheon is a tiny, tiny place with a terrible connection to Daegu, meaning that even though we expected to be there in the evening getting spooped out of our minds, we’d have to go home around seven because there just wouldn’t be a way to go back to Daegu anymore after that. Talk about a disappointment.. And then, when we finally arrived, we were said to wait outside in some crummy tent because the park wasn’t open yet.. Certainly not off to a good start.

[Imagine if Disney made you wait like this]

[Imagine if Disney made you wait like this]

However, the moment the park opened its doors and we stepped inside, I already started to expect that maybe coming here wasn’t such a bad idea after all. The park is made up out of several sets that were used in Korean movies depicting different ancient time periods such as Joseon Dynasty Korea or Industrial Revolution Europe which is beautiful enough on its own and a great location for pictures, but for this occasion it was dressed up extra special as doors were smeared with blood, creepy dolls were overlooking you from the balconies as you walked by and eerie music was playing from the speakers around the park. On top of that, actors were walking around as well trying to scare innocent Korean (or in our case South Asian) girls to collect their screams. The dreary sky was actually helping today, because in the end it didn’t really rain much but it did give the park a creepy atmosphere even in the daylight that we were forced to explore it in.

DSC_0365

DSC_0401

DSC_0379

DSC_0449

DSC_0437 DSC_0445

DSC_0450

The main attraction outside of the scenic buildings themselves were the haunted houses specifically set up every summer to scare the shit out of paying customers. And that they certainly did. Dutch people who have visited Bobbejaanland during Halloween will know what to expect, as the haunted houses are very similar to the setup there. You basically go in in small groups, holding each other’s hands or shoulders, and walk through this spooky place full of creepy atmosphere, lighting and actors just waiting for a chance to scare you (though some of them were pretty hilarious as they kept yelling YOU DIE, YOU DIE after they found out we were the only foreigners in the park, lol). The haunted houses were hospital themed, zombie outbreak themed (that one was especially creative, I thought), Dracula themed and even prison themed. The biggest one, aptly named ‘Scream City’ consisted of two floors of I-don’t-want-to-walk-in-front-OH-MY-GOD-WHAT-IS-THAT goodness. Every haunted house had a ‘scare rating’ posted in front of it so you could already start worrying while waiting to go in. I gotta admit I actually only took the helm in one of the haunted houses because man…it’s really spoopy to be in the front. You can’t see anything and you’re just kind of hoping you won’t run into anything and the atmosphere in the rooms was really well done. The one where I was in the front even had a part where a whole room was just empty with just a few gross dead bodies lying on hospital beds in a faint red glowing light with a girls’ crying coming from somewhere in the back of the room – of course precisely the direction in which you were expected to go. Luckily Dorji took over for me admirably, although I would’ve loved to have seen Chan or Mika (who were both very busy screaming their lungs out and/or nearly tearing my shirt off because they didn’t want to move forward) head on in front of us for just once.
The haunted houses were really well done, and totally worth coming to Hapcheon for. I’m thinking we will probably go again next year, and then we’ll stay overnight so we can really enjoy how crazy it must be to be there in the dark. The day we were there, it was okay because you’d get scared but then you got to the exit and you were in the sunlight, but if it’s dark outside too with all these actors walking around…man it must be amazing.

DSC_0380 DSC_0382DSC_0387 DSC_0390DSC_0400

Another attraction, as I mentioned, was the way they dressed up the park with spoopy props and stories. You could collect stamps at some of the props erected for this event and if you collected all of them you earned the rank of GHOST MASTER and got a cool little swag bag with cute stuff inside. It was also a great opportunity for pictures.

DSC_0429 DSC_0427 DSC_0423DSC_0411 DSC_0441 DSC_0444

Finally – and I was really surprised when I found this – I got to use the Occulus Rift in real life for the first time in my life. I’d seen it at G-Star last year but the line to use it was so long that I couldn’t get to it, but this time all I had to do was sit down in a chair and strap that baby to my face. Of course the game was some haunted house simulator that wasn’t really all that good, but the experience itself was pretty amazing. Just the head tracking on this thing is great. I couldn’t see a lot because I couldn’t wear my glasses (haha fuck you VR) but what I did see, I was quite impressed with. I can’t even imagine playing something like PT while wearing this, I think I’d pee my pants.

KakaoTalk_20150812_202909234

So yeah, Hapcheon Ghost Park was in two words freaking amazing and I’d love to go again next year if only the freaking amazing friends I went with this year will join me :3

Last DSC_0456 EDIT

2 comments on “Ghost and Ghouls in Hapcheon Ghost Park

  1. Pingback: G-Star (지스타) Games Expo 2015 | Anonymous of Holland           -A Dutchman in Korea-

  2. Pingback: RIP 2015 | Anonymous of Holland           -A Dutchman in Korea-

Comment

Information

This entry was posted on 12 September 2015 by in Diary, Korea and tagged , , , , , .

For e-mail updates!

Join 64 other followers

Forgotten Tomes

Statistics

  • 24,248 Minds Expanded

Instagram

I am an expert at mixing business with pleasure. 
#Torment #Planescape #Games #Videogames #RPG #Kpop #Hyori #Crayonpop #TaichiYamada #Strangers #Writing #OrsonScottCard #Card #Korean #Narrative #Study #TESOL #Books #Bookshelf #Guus #Hiddink is nogsteeds lekker aan het #bijverdienen in #Korea. 
#히딩크 #네덜란드 #약국 #약 #medicijnen #medication #Dutch #Football #Soccer #coach #GuusHiddink #Seoul #Nederland Recently, I've been worrying about whether my #Korean has been getting worse, but since I managed to make it through an entire #미용실 #대화 today without sounding like an idiot, I suppose it's not as bad as I feared! 
#haircut #hair #kapper #salon #conversation #foreigner #한국어 #외국인 #머리 #Dutch #네덜란드 Almost missed the #cheonggyecheon #lantern #festival at night, but managed to make it on the very last day with the very best company. 
It's quite nice when you pretend there aren't 8 million #tourists walking around. 
#Seoul #lanterns #Korea #Korean #서울 #청계천 #연등회 #연등 Where there is #esports, there is #이현경 @hk_leee. 
And where there is #LeeHyunKyeong, there is me fanboying. 
#이현경아나운서 #announcer #Starcraft2 #Starcraft #proleague #leagueoflegends #Starleague #스타2 #프로리그 #아나운서 #리그오브레전드 #스타리그 #스타크래프트 #스타크래프트2 Damn, aren't these #pokemon #subway cars a bit #overthetop? 
#Seoul #Line2 #2허선 #포켓몬 #pokémon #지하철 #Korea #Pikachu #피카츄
