Anonymous of Holland            -A Dutchman in Korea-

    Helo welcom 2 my websight

RIP 2015

First of all, let me wish you all a Happy New year, Gelukkig Nieuwjaar and that you would 새해 복 많이 받으세요.
I’m planning to write about my unsarcastically great last week of 2015 when I finish writing my application for switching my major so you’ll have to wait a little bit for that, but for now I thought I’d make a little collage about 2015 so I don’t end up forgetting what a great year this has been.

2015.jpg

>The year of our Lord two thousand and fif-teen >Not making any end-of-the-year anything

I went through my 6,941 Files in 94 Folders representing all the pictures I’ve taken since I arrived here in Korea to find the picture of the moment that was the most meaningful in every month of this year.

January – Moving out of the dorms
January was the start of a very difficult, but in the end also very rewarding period in my life here in Korea. With nothing more than the clothes I brought from the Netherlands, the few things I’d bought while in Korea and the dirty couch pillow a fellow Dutchman kindly gave to me so I had somewhere to sleep, I moved into my one room apartment at the beginning of this year. For months I lived like a hobo; never having money to go out with friends, eat decently or do anything fun but now that I have everything I need to live comfortably I’m glad past me made all those sacrifices so I don’t have to.

February – Ghibli exhibition in Seoul
In February I went to Seoul to visit the Studio Ghibli exhibition, featuring amazing 3D reconstructions of scenes from the famous Ghibli anime like Totoro, Howl’s Moving Castle, Nausicaä and, as pictured, Spirited Away. It was really awesome to see those scenes come to life and it’s something I never would’ve had the chance to see if I was still in the Netherlands.

March – The Daegu Tourism Blog
In March, the biggest thing that happened to me was that I applied for (and actually got accepted to) a program by the Daegu government for promoting Daegu in social media and online. Every month I’d have to write an article, and they’d pay me a bit of money in return. The money was nice but the main reason for doing this for a whole 11 months ( I’m really sorry but I lazed out on the last month =o ) was being able to help other foreigners coming to ‘our’ city and just seeing my name on something official is something I really like.

April – My birthday
Even though we had the first two day FAM tour with the Daegu Blog members in April, there’s still nothing that can beat the amazing day that my girlfriend set up for me on my birthday this year. Not only was it preceded and followed by two days of having fun and meeting friends, my birthday itself was just the best birthday I’ve ever had. Even though we’re not together anymore, I don’t think I will ever forget how great the 25th of April of 2015 was.

May – School trip to Busan
You know, I also went to Comic World in Busan this month, but I still picked the school trip as the most memorable experience. Not only because Comic World Busan is a hollow husk of Comic World Seoul, mind you, but also because no matter how poor the planning on any of the trips was, it was always fun to be with my dear KGSP friends and the school trips were some of the only times when we were all together in one giant bus.

June – That fucking chicken street
If you’ve watched my excellent acting in the promotional video we filmed for the famous chicken gizzard street here in Daegu, you probably understand why this picture is up here. First of all I totally got to be in a promotional video for the city of Daegu, which is awesome enough by itself, but secondly I also got to invite my friends (Gary, Farah, Francesca and Maaike) to get completely wasted for free afterwards. After the super awkward filming finally ended the producers just walked away, told us to not worry about the tab and order whatever we’d like and disappeared into the night. Not the most awesome idea for my brain (and stomach) the next day, but man did we have a good time.

July – The Chicken Festival
One can never have enough chicken. The Daegu municipal government clearly recognizes that as they organize a yearly chicken and beer festival in the middle of summer. On the first day that I went, as a member of the Daegu Blog team, I got to meet the mayor of Daegu who treated everyone to beer and chicken, and the second day I stuffed my face with chicken, managed to score some free stuff, drank a lot of beer and took pictures of a lot of attractive women.
So..you know..even though we went on a rainy school trip and me and my then girlfriend went on a trip to her home town this month as well, there’s just no beating Korean chicken and beer man..sorry.

August – Ghost Park in Hapcheon
August was a bitter sweet month since all my friends would be moving out of Daegu to go to their respective universities while I would be staying here to practice Korean a bit longer. I went on a cool trip to Gyeongju and had lots of great nights with my friends because it would be the last month we’d all be together, but the most memorable day was without a doubt the Ghost Park in Hapcheon.  On an overcast day we arrived at what looked to be the lamest thing ever but which turned out to be freaking awesome. Screaming Mikas, t-shirt ripping Chans, badass Dorjis and lots of great photo moments made that day a day to never forget.

September – Meeting someone new
By complete chance I ran into someone getting off of the subway downtown when I was going out for a drink with some people I barely knew, apologized in Korean and was greeted with an ‘Oh my God, you speak Korean!?’ After talking for pretty much the entire night we decided to help each other out with our languages a bit and become language partners, but luckily we also became good friends.

October – Cultural exchange
Since all my friends had moved away, I had a lot of time to hang out and to be honest it wasn’t until we did that my Korean language speaking skill started improving little by little. I don’t know what it is, but speaking Korean to most people is far from easy but with this girl it comes pretty naturally. The funniest parts were when we’d go to a mom and pops store late at night to get some beers and they’d be all like ‘Woah, how long has he been in Korea, he speaks so naturally!’ (always directed at her instead of me which kinda made me feel like a talking pet or something, lol)

November – High School trip
Even though G-Star 2015 totally took place this month too and it was super cool, the trip I took with some high schoolers was easily the coolest thing I did this month. Someone I barely knew from some other tourism event had asked me if I’d be interested in a day working for some school that has a program to introduce foreign cultures and stuff to high schoolers and even though I had to get up before 7 (the thing I hate most in the world after SJWs) I still went since at least the money was good. I actually had no idea that it was going to be such a fun experience. I had to rely mostly on my Korean skills since they didn’t speak English all that well, and got to experience some cool stuff that I hadn’t experienced before like the wisdom imparted by a Buddhist monk, temple food (surprisingly similar to elementary school food!) and a Korean play that I couldn’t understand in the slightest. I was glad that my group actually liked me enough to go to dinner and noreabang afterwards and they even called to meet me a week after when they went to Keimyung as part of their Uni orientation process.

December – Dem Starcrafts
I know it’s a bit dickish to put Starcraft here when I literally got to meet a lot of my friends again for the first time in like 4 months but..um..I just think that the Starcraft is going to be in my active memory for longer. December was an amazing month though, and as I said I’ll definitely post more about that as soon as possible, but since Gary got me into Starcraft hardcore (I watch about  2-4 matches every single day these days) it was really cool and impressive to see some of the players I’ve been following online in real life for once. Plus we got to take pictures in the commentators seats, got filmed and I got the signature of one of the best Terran players in the world. Hell yeah, 2015.

2015, much like 2014 before it was a year full of ups and downs, complaining, drowning sorrows and money problems, but also full of friendship, new experiences and great people. Whereas I usually feel bad at the end of the year that I haven’t achieved anything, I think this year I’m okay with not achieving anything specific when I have created a comfortable life here for myself.
Of course, that will all fall apart in two months when I have to move to Seoul so…stay tuned!

Comment

Information

This entry was posted on 1 January 2016 by in Diary, Korea and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

For e-mail updates!

Join 68 other followers

Forgotten Tomes

Statistics

  • 25,836 Minds Expanded

Instagram

Are you hyped for the #WinterOlympics yet?
Because the Korean government would really, really like you to be #hype!

I've never really been into the Olympics, except for that one time when the guy who was born in the same town I lived in (#GianniRomme) was raking in Gold Medals like it was one of those coin pusher games - and even then it was mostly because my school was making a big deal out of it.
As such, I'm not very interested in the Winter Olympics either, even though this is the first time I'd be able to attend the events myself and watch my country's athletes get burried in speed skating medals.

Still, I hope Korea will put on a show - and a performance - to be remembered for years to come.

________________________________________

#Olympics #Olympic #Korea #Seoul #Lotte #Departmentstore #SooHorang #Christmas #decoration #decorations #shopwindow #shop #pyeongchang2018 #pyeongchang #평창 #평창2018 #올림픽 #겨울 #수호랑 #스타크래프트 is love #Starcraft is life.

Being a Starcraft fan in Korea feels a lot like what I'd imagine being a rich acquaintance of Ronaldo would feel like for a football fan - you get front row seats to all the major games, get to meet legends like Messi, Robben or Buffon (in our case, Byun, SoO or Stats) and get to ask for their signature pretty much whenever you want - all without paying a single penny.

The professional scene has been taking hit after hit since I started getting interested in it, and I'm afraid it'll never be the same as it once was, but I'm glad that in 2018, as well, I'll be able to enjoy some of the best e-Sports the world has to offer.

#WingsOfLiberty down, #HeartOfTheSwarm and #LegacyOfTheVoid to go.

______________________________________

#스타2 #스타크래프트2 #Starcraft2 #Byun #TY #Maru #INnoVation #esports #gaming #progamer #Korean #Korea #e스포츠 #진에어 #진에어그린윙스 #SKT1 #Dark #collection #collector #PC #RTS #변현우 #이신형 #전태양 #조성주 처음 한국에서 @kim.minji.ki204 가 그린 책을 발견할 때부터 (그 #책 읽을 수 없어도, ㅎㅎ) 한 순간엔 큰 #팬 되었고 작년 #서울일러스트레이션페어 에서 직접 만날 수 있어서 너무 즐거웠다.

이제 인스타로 새 책을 받을 수 있는 이벤트가 있어서 당연히 참여해야지~

#kimminji #thejunglebook #정글북 #정글북리그램이벤트 #indigo 한국에서 역사랑 현대 항상 어떤 이상한 발렌스로 공존한다.

In Korea, the past and the present are always living together in some sort of awkward balance.
Traditional norms, values and traditions clash with the influence of a rapidly modernizing and developing society; pride in one's roots compete with a constant need to move forward, and historical buildings vie for room to breathe in the middle of a metropolis.
I hope Korea manages to move forward without forgetting the things that make it unique.

__________________________

#대한민국 #한국 #절 #불교 #봉은사 #역사 #현대 #발렌스 #서울 #Seoul #Korea #SouthKorea #Temple #Shrine #Buddhism #Buddha #traditional #Buddhist #history #present #balance #City #koreantemple #development #Metropolis #tranquility #modernization This is such an #unoriginal picture but..doesn't it look just like a #postcard?

#Seoul #Korea #SouthKorea #Namsan #NamsanTower #City #Road #Traffic #Korean #mountain #trees #green #NSeoulTower #Tower #서울 #도시 #남산 #남산탑 #산 #탑 #도로 #엽서 #그림엽서 #남산타워 On some nights, when I'm feeling all beat down by stress and worries about whether or not I'll be able to support myself over here or where my life is heading, and when I'm just drunk enough, when I see the second snow of the year coming down outside my window, I just can't help but go outside, play some music and dance in the snow like an idiot because for some reason it just reminds me of how much I love being in this country.
Fuck you, Korea. I love you.
.
.
. 
#secondsnow #firstsnow #둘째눈 #첫눈 #Seoul #서울 #snow #눈 #Korea #SouthKorea #Korean #Life #Street #KyungHeeUniversity #KyungHee #경희 #경희대 #dongdaemoon #동대문구 #이문동 #winter #겨울 #atmosphere #분위기 #reallylongsentence
