Anonymous of Holland            -A Dutchman in Korea-

    Helo welcom 2 my websight

New year, New home, New address 2 – Electric Boogaloo

It has once again been a while since I’ve updated you guys about my life here in Korea.
I think I had a pretty decent excuse this time though, because I’ve been crazy busy ever since I got here. However, no worries, I am doing fine and everything is great!

So where we left off, our hero (me) managed to find a room in Seoul.
Unfortunately, finding a room also means one needs to move all of one’s belongings to this room, which….wasn’t the most pleasant thing I’ve done since I got to Korea.
It all began with packing which I thought wouldn’t be too much of a problem so I pretty much just left it until the last day because I was too busy meeting friends and teachers and visiting places for the last time. Kind of a big mistake because I actually amassed a lot more junk than I had expected!
I think we ended up throwing out like 6 or 7 giant garbage bags and two full boxes of junk and even then there was just so much to wrap up and pack. I’m so, so glad that someone came by to help me pack because we ended up needing over 10 hours of non-stop packing in order to get my room ready for moving the next day. It was a pretty shitty experience, but because she was there it wasn’t too boring and without help I probably wouldn’t have even been able to finish at all.
Another memorable thing that I don’t want to forget about is the IU poster on my fridge.
WHY DID YOU USE THE DUAL SIDED TAPE, PAST RICHARD!? WHY!?
It took me hours to get that fridge clean. But man, do I love mosquito spray. That shit saved me when nothing else could.

Anyway, after spending all this time packing up my life one box at a time, I had to of course move it. And since it’s a bit hard to send a bed, desk and chairs by mail I had arranged for someone to drive my stuff and me to Seoul. I got a quote from a real moving agency and they quoted me 700,000 won (about €550) so I decided to count my blessings and go with ‘guy with truck’ who asked for only 250,000 (€190). For that money he’d even help me carry my shit which was sorely needed since a Queen size latex mattress is pretty damn heavy.

0203

My East-Timorian friend and his French acquaintance helped me wrap up the last bits of packing and while my friend took care of the business with the 부동산 the truck was loaded after what seemed like an eternity. It was then time for the real, final goodbye of my home, Daegu, and everyone I had to leave behind there. I’d written letters to my favorite teachers and met almost everyone I’d want to meet in the last week though, so when I went to Seoul tired from packing, loading and not getting enough sleep I actually felt kind of excited to finally arrive.

That excitement was short lived, of course, as moving is fucking horrible and even more so when you get surprised by the room that your landlord said would be ‘cleaned for you in advance’ with a fridge that smelled like WW1 in the kitchen and dust and grime all over the place in the living room and bathroom. Thankfully the unloading process was completely painless however as Hungarian strongman Imre and my 형 from America helped me move everything into my room in record time. However when it was there it….was just….there…

04

Because to be honest, I hadn’t really given any thought to the way I would organize the room yet… But I had to sleep and since we arrived around 9, we really needed to build the bed so I’d be able to sleep that night. So we just built it and shoved it in the corner and had some beers. Actually, I was really happy to see my friends here..because to be honest it was rather scary coming to this new place empty handed (so to speak), with no one to rely on and no knowledge of anything. If those guys hadn’t been there for me, I think I would’ve felt really sad and lonely.
Of course, I still felt a little bit of that though as I went to bed in my warzone of a room.

The next few days were completely dedicated to settling in into my room and turning it into a liveable space. I created a ‘dollhouse’ to visualize some possible set-ups and actually managed to move the heavy furniture by myself. I spent a few nights up until like 4 AM dragging shit around but when I finally got it, I was so incredibly glad that this place finally became my home.

The room had initially included two wardrobes, two beds, a desk, a nightstand and a bookcase so I had to ask the owner if it was okay to throw them out. She wasn’t too keen on it, but because she likes me finally agreed on it when she saw what I did with the room.
It probably helped that I cleaned for literally three days to get the floor, walls, ceiling, kitchen, fridge (that one alone took 4 hours, no fucking joke, you cannot imagine how bad this freaking fridge smelled) and bathroom (that one also took half a day) clean.

So, it’s now time to show you the final product, right?
The room that I worked on for about a week fulltime to get in this state.
It’s still not exactly perfect yet (all the kpop posters are missing because I actually have girls over these days for example) but it’s home and I love this place even more than I did my room in Daegu.

You can say that I’ve settled in pretty well by now. I didn’t go out at all the first week because I was so busy getting everything up and running but these days I’m exploring the neighbourhood a little and although 외대 isn’t exactly the most sprawling or exciting area to be in, basically everything you can need is right here (except a freaking arcade, I’m dying to play some games ㅜ.ㅜ) and my street has several cheap student-style restaurants and places to do homework with some tea. The 7/11 is also literally (LITERALLY) under my room so whenever I get midnight munchies I can just walk there and buy some beer and microwave burgers. This….is not going to be good for my health.
I’m also getting used to the Seoul subway and I don’t even have to check my app anymore when I’m going somewhere on ‘my’ line.
서울 사람 되고 있어!

In the next post, I will tell you about my new university life.
It’s really, really different from life in Daegu but not necessarily worse.
I’m looking forward to finding time to write more ㅋㅋㅋ


Oh, and before I forget, my new address:

라으텐 리차드
서울특별시 동대문구 이문동 264-326
202 호
010-29091138

Richard Luijten
Seoul Dongdaemun-gu Imun-dong 264-326
Apartment 202
Seoul, South Korea
Tel: 010-29091138


One comment on “New year, New home, New address 2 – Electric Boogaloo

  1. Pingback: 4 Dutchmen in Korea [Part 1] | Anonymous of Holland           -A Dutchman in Korea-

Comment

Information

This entry was posted on 17 March 2016 by in Diary, Korea and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

For e-mail updates!

Join 64 other followers

Forgotten Tomes

Statistics

  • 23,912 Minds Expanded

Instagram

Of course I had to take a picture with the absolute king of the day #Splyce #Zerg #Solar #강민수 and #Protoss team leader #herO #김준호 because I don't get to see them very often. 
Team herO was also in really good spirits while Solar was kicking ass and taking names in the #Twitch #Starcraft2 #VSL in #Seoul yesterday. 
#Starcraft #SC2 #스타크래프트2 #스타2 #스타크래프트 #Gaming #esports #God #2: #Splyce #Solar absolutely wrecking everything in his way at #Twitch #Starcraft2 #VSL in #Seoul. 
#Starcraft #sc2 #스타2 #스타크래프트2 #스타크래프트 #강민수 #신 #Zerg #저그 #Gaming #esports An actual #God at work at the #Starcraft2 #Twitch #VSL yesterday. 
#ByuN #변 #변현우 #sc2 #스타크래프트2 #스타2 #Starcraft #스타크래프트 #테란 #Terran #Korea #Seoul #Gaming #esports Turning #30 might not actually be the worst thing in the world.
Last year, I was swamped with university work, but this year I could take the whole day off to do only the things I wanted to. 
Another #happy #birthday in #Korea! 
#생일 #서른 #서른살 #verjaardag #dertig Another beautiful #spring day in #Seoul. Recently, I've been going #outside a lot more than I used to, and I'm not disliking it. The middle of this #park has a huge grass field where lots of people from the neighborhood were playing. #Korean parks are cute. 
#공원 #서울 #서리풀공원 #자연 #Easter? 
A #celebration, perhaps? 
A #chocolate-y feast? 
A #springtime #festivity? 
A certain #Christian #holiday? 
The #resurrection of a certain #Holy man? 
Why don't #Americans #celebrate Easter?
